The Santa Clara Valley Urban Runoff Pollution Prevention Program (SCVURPPP or Program) is an association of thirteen cities and towns in Santa Clara Valley, the County of Santa Clara, and the Santa Clara Valley Water District that share a common NPDES permit to discharge stormwater to South San Francisco Bay. Member agencies (Co-permittees) include Campbell, Cupertino, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Mountain View, Palo Alto, San Jose, Santa Clara, Saratoga, Sunnyvale, the County of Santa Clara, and the Santa Clara Valley Water District.

Total population within the Program area is approximately 1.7 million people.  The Program incorporates regulatory, monitoring and outreach measures aimed at reducing pollution in urban runoff to the "maximum extent practicable" to improve the water quality of South San Francisco Bay and the streams of Santa Clara Valley.

In mid-1996, the Program’s Management Committee developed a Program Mission Statement and Program Goals and Objectives. This process brought about a general consensus among the Co-permittees on the Program’s approach to compliance with water-quality regulations.

The Program is organized, coordinated and implemented in accordance with a Memorandum of
Agreement (MOA) signed by each Co-permittee.  The MOA was signed in 1990 and updated in 1999, 2005 and 2006. It covers the responsibilities of each Co-permittee and provides a cost-sharing formula for joint expenditures.  Program by-laws were also updated and approved in 1999.

The Watershed Watch Campaign is the main focus of the Program’s Public Information/Participation element. The Campaign is a multi-year education and outreach effort designed to increase the public’s awareness of watersheds and urban runoff issues including pollution prevention and pollutants of concern (e.g., pesticides, mercury, heavy metals and trash). The Program uses a web site (www.mywatershedwatch.org) to provide detailed information about watersheds and watershed protection.